Design a site like this with
Get started


Thanks to everyone who planned to join us in DC. The following people helped organize this conference.


Lawrence-Minh Bùi Davis, Smithsonian Asian Pacific American Center, Chair

Audrey Wu Clark, US Naval Academy
Sylvia Chong, University of Virginia
Phil Tajitsu Nash, University of Maryland, College Park
Lily Wong, American University
Nafisa Isa, Smithsonian Asian Pacific American Center
Jennifer Chang, George Washington University
Patricia P. Chu, George Washington University
Tamara Bhalla, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Camilla Fojas, University of Virginia
Yoonmee Chang, in memoriam


Wendy Cheng, Scripps College, Co-Chair
Jan Padios, University of Maryland, College Park, Co-Chair

Aimee Bahng, Pomona College
Juliana Hu Pegues, University of Minnesota
Sylvia Chan-Malik, Rutgers University, New Brunswick
Jian Chen, The Ohio State University
Mark Padoongpatt, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Laura Y. Liu, The New School
Minh-Ha Pham, Pratt Institute
Amy Bhatt, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Melissa Borja, University of Michigan
Manu Karuka, Barnard College
Lucy Burns, University of California, Los Angeles
CN Le, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Natalie Masuoka, University of California, Los Angeles
Brandon Yoo, Arizona State University
Soniya Munshi, CUNY, Borough of Manhattan Community College
Grace Yoo, San Francisco State University
Sharmila Rudrappa, University of Texas, Austin
Sohyun An, Kennesaw State University


Karin Aguilar-San Juan, Macalester College
Elaine Andres, University of California Irvine
Mimi Khúc, Asian American Literary Review
Dean Itsuji Saranillio, New York University
Robyn Rodriguez, University of California, Davis
Josephine Lee, University of Minnesota

AAAS Board Members 2019-2020

Theodore S. Gonzalves
Smithsonian National Museum of
American History
Term: 2017-2020

Jennifer Ho
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Term: 2019-2020

Interior West/South Representative
Karen Kuo
Arizona State University
Term: 2019-2022

Mid-Atlantic Representative
Caroline Hong
Queen College – CUNY
Term: 2019-2022

Mid-West Representative
Karin Aguilar-San Juan
Macalester College
Term: 2019-2022

New England/Central and Eastern
Canada Representative

Jason Oliver Chang
University of Connecticut
Term: 2019-2022

Pacific Northwest, Hawai’i and
Pacific Islands, & Western Canada

Roderick Labrador
University of Hawai’i, Manoa
Term: 2019-2022

Southern California Representative
James Kyung-Jin Lee
University of California, Irvine
Term: 2017-2020

Northern California and Nevada

Robyn Rodriguez
University of California, Davis
Term: 2017-2020

Section Representative
Christopher Eng
Syracuse University
Term: 2019-2022

Contingent Faculty Representative
Mimi Khuc
Asian American Literary Review
Term: 2018-2021

Paul Lai
Ramsey County Library
Term: 2019-2022

Student Representative
Elaine Kathryn Andres
University of California, Irvine
Term: 2018-2020


Jennifer Ho
University of Colorado, Boulder
Term: 2020-2022

Southern California Representative
Jinah Kim
California State University, Northridge
Term: 2020-2023

Student Representative
Keva Bui
University of California, San Diego
Term: 2020-2022

Northern California and Nevada

Falu Bakrania
San Francisco State University
Term: 2020-2023

AAAS Administrative Staff

Anna Gonzalez, managing director

Tamara Ho

Jennifer Alanis

%d bloggers like this: